LEARN HOW

TWO-STEP VERIFICATION
PROTECTS BYU and YOU!

 

 

HOW IT WORKS:

 

1. Enter username and password as usual

2. Use your personal device to verify your identity

3. Securely logged in

Get Started!

ENROLLING IN DUO


Check out the video below for a walkthrough of the enrollment process!  
  

Helpful How-To's

Enroll in Two-step verification


 

Have your phone or other device(s) on hand to start enrollment

 style="line-height: 0px;"This step works best on a computer, with a mobile phone or other device handy for enrollment. By clicking the "Sign up now" button, you will be asked to log in to BYU and then you will be presented with a screen that allows you to enroll your mobile phone or other device. Just enter your phone number (or skip if you have a tablet), and pick the kind of cell phone or tablet model you have (iPhone, Android, etc.).
By far, the easiest ways to sign in daily is to use the Duo Mobile app (plus "Remember Me", which we'll get to later). The mobile app is free, has a very small footprint, and gives you simple, free options: (1) press 'accept' on your phone from a "Duo Push", or (2) generate a "Duo Mobile" passcode (6-digits), and enter it after your username and password to complete sign-in. ("Generate Duo Mobile passcode" requires NO wifi or mobile service). For this option, search for "Duo Mobile" and download the app with the square green icon with their logo on it. The Duo Mobile App is NOT required. If you don't have a smart phone or you don't want to install Duo Mobile, no worries! You can register a tablet, landline, or generic cell phone instead! (See FAQs for more information, including other options.)
If you're using Duo Mobile, just open the app and use your device's camera to scan the QR code (that blocky sort of barcode) you are given to activate the account. (This step requires you to give Duo Mobile permission to access your phone’s camera, but it will only be used for this purpose.)

The default authentication method is "Ask me to choose...". This option makes it easy for you to select "Remember Me" for 30 days the first time you log in on each browser/device combination you use (For example, Chrome on my Windows laptop or Safari on my iPhone). It also makes it easier to add multiple devices and get SMS Passcodes as backup login options when your main device is not available. Please don't change this unless you're an advanced, tech-savvy user and/or if you're assisted by someone who has been through this process before. For experienced users, your personality and tech habits will dictate which settings you will want to select. Here are some additional options to choose from:

ASK ME TO CHOOSE AN AUTHENTICATION METHOD Unless you’re the type of person who deletes your web cache and cookies on a normal basis, you will probably want to select, “Ask me to choose an authentication method.” This will allow you to use multiple verification methods, including Duo Push (push a button on the Duo Mobile app), Phone Call (answer the phone and push any button), Enter Passcode (type in a 6- or 7-digit code), and Remember Me (don’t do anything; the app will remember your browser). For you, the log-in process will be like this: 1) Sign in with your Net ID and password, 2) Select a verification method, 3) Verify your identity through phone call, Duo push, or passcode. If you select the option “Remember me for 30 days,” the process will be even simpler: 1) Sign in with your Net ID and password. Selecting “Ask me to choose an authentication method” is by far the most common option.

AUTOMATICALLY SEND ME A DUO PUSH "Automatically send me a Duo push" is a good choice for people who clear their cache and cookies a lot, know that they always want to receive a Duo Push, and want to save a couple extra seconds per log-in. For people who select "Automatically send me a Duo push," the log-in process will be like this: 1) Sign in with your Net ID and password, 2) Open the Duo mobile app and push two buttons. Note: If you've chosen "Automatically send me a Duo push," but would like to use one of the other methods (including "Remember me for 30 days," "Call Me," and "Enter a Passcode"), you can do so by pushing "Cancel" in the blue banner at the bottom of the Duo log-in page.

AUTOMATICALLY CALL THIS DEVICE "Automatically call this device" is a good choice for people who clear their cache and cookies a lot, know that they always want to receive a phone call, and want to save a couple extra seconds per log-in. For people who select "Automatically call this device," the log-in process will be like this: 1) Sign in with your Net ID and password, 2) Answer the phone and push any button. Note: If you've chosen "Automatically call this device," but would like to use one of the other methods (including "Remember me for 30 days," "Call Me," and "Enter a Passcode"), you can do so by pushing "Cancel" in the blue banner at the bottom of the Duo log-in page.

 

 

 

Then make sure you RETURN HERE to confirm your enrollment

To get started, click the "Confirm enrollment" button below. A new tab will open, where you’ll be asked to log in with the device you just set up, and then select a method to confirm your enrollment.
Once you’ve clicked “Sign up now” and logged in using your Net ID and password, you will be asked to select one of the following verification methods: "See Me," "Call Me," "Email Me," or "Text Me." The menu is organized accordion-style. Click on any of the options to see more information. For some of the options, you will have to select a specific email address or phone number. Once you’ve finished choosing, click “OK.”

What you do for this step depends on the enrollment confirmation method that you selected. If you selected “See Me,” you will have to go in person and show your photo ID to your Duo access coordinator. If you selected “Call Me,” BYU will call you within 24 hours at the phone number you selected, and ask you some questions. If you selected “Email Me,” you will receive an email containing a code. You will then need to enter the code into a verification box. If you select "Text Me," you will be texted a 10-digit code that you can enter to confirm your enrollment.

 

Confirm enrollment Unenroll?